Star Wars: The Force Awakens teaser

5 Comments

  1. I kind of have to ask this – am I the only one who doesn’t really care that a new Star Wars movie is coming out? I mean, think about it – at this point, there are six. SIX. Plus innumerable books, TV shows, video games, Lego sets – it’s honestly getting a little ridiculous.

    Don’t get me wrong – I understand that the series is the stuff of legend, has innumerable fans, etc., etc. And heck, I like it fine. But there’s a certain point of over-exposure where I think the prudent thing is NOT to cater to the obsessive fans demanding more, but simply to let the saga end. Look where The Simpsons is now – at one point, that was one of the best animated shows around; now it’s a shambling zombie. Do we really want Star Wars to end up like that?

    • Don’t worry, you’re not. A while back, I rewatched the original film after having not seen any Star Wars for years and was startled by how bad the acting actually was. For instance, you could tell Harrison Ford started out as a set carpenter because he was so wooden. *rimshot* It’s not that I was somehow traumatized by the prequels (personally I thought the hatred vented against them was overblown). It’s more that my tastes have changed and Star Wars and Star Wars just doesn’t fit in there anymore.

      • Well, for the record, the original Star Wars is probably my favorite, especially since it’s the only one I’ve seen more than once – and I can’t comment on the sequels, since I haven’t seen them at all. I still like the Star Wars movies, they’re fun and adventurous and all; it’s just that I don’t think they need more than they’ve already gotten. Enough’s enough.

  2. I loved the original trilogy and the feel of Saturday morning serials that it aped. I didn’t care much for the prequels that strived really hard to be epics but filled in backstory we didn’t need or want. So I’m a wash on that front.

    I also didn’t like the Star Trek reboot in which Abrams took the intellectual (mostly) Star Trek and dumbed it down with explosions and such trying to make it into Star Wars.

    So I have little interest but that could change if future trailers show more than stupid looking robots and bizarre light sabers.

Leave a Reply

