Ghostbusters 3 shooting in early 2015

ghostbusters-logoSony Pictures has confirmed that it will begin filming Ghostbusters 3 early next year.  Ivan Reitman has stepped down from the directing position following Harold Ramis’ death, and the film will involve a mostly new cast:

It’s a version of Ghostbusters that has the originals in a very minor role,” Reitman said. “When I came back from Harold’s funeral, it was really moving and it made me think about a lot of things. I’d just finished directing Draft Day, which I’m really happy with and proud of. Working on a film that is smaller and more dramatic was so much fun and satisfying. I just finally met with Amy and Doug Belgrad when I got back. I said I’d been thinking about it for weeks, that I’d rather just produce this Ghostbusters. I told them I thought I could help but let’s find a really good director and make it with him. So that’s what we’ve agreed will happen. I didn’t want all kinds of speculation about what happened with me, that is the real story.

How do you feel about the return of this popular franchise from the 80s?

1 Comment

  1. Realistically, it’s probably the best way to go. I mean, the original team will always be the ‘real’ Ghostbusters in most people’s minds, but it ain’t the ’80’s anymore, and the surviving actors have moved on to different places in their careers – the Bill Murray of today is very different from the Bill Murray of back then, and not just because he’s aged. The time for a ‘let’s get the team back together’ sort of thing would have been, at the latest, the early 2000’s; at this point, the vibe would be very different, and probably not what most fans of the franchise would want. A ‘Ghostbusters, next generation’ sort of thing, on the other hand, I could see working. Remains to be seen, of course, but this could be cool.

Leave a Reply

