Eunice’s look back on 2012

apocalypseWow my first year end/year beginning article!

At the beginning of last year I was so excited for so many movies coming out, a lot of them I’d already deemed “theaterworthy”: The Avengers, The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, Skyfall, The Dark Knight Rises, and Resident Evil: Retribution were the heavy hitters. Not far behind were Snow White and the Hunstman, The Raven, World War Z, Prometheus, The Amazing Spider-Man, The Great Gatsby, and Beauty and the Beast (which I still love) was rereleased in 3D. On the bubble, so to speak was John Carter, The Bourne Legacy, Total Recall, Dredd, and Rock of Ages.

Other movies that I was excited about/or at least really interested in were Cabin the in Woods (not that it wasn’t theaterworthy, but I prefer horror movies at home), Paranormal Activity 4 (it’s got its ups and downs, but my sis in-law and I are so attached to this series), The Expendables 2 (first one was underwhelming, but I’m still gonna see it anyway), and Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters (based almost entirely on how much I enjoyed Dead Snow). Along the way Looper caught my eye and I hadn’t realized that the Les Miserable movie was coming out in 2012 (I can’t remember everything okay?)

However…

Among other things (jury duty, two hurricanes, a faulty plane ride) 2012 was the year that the universe conspired against me actually making it to the movies. I started off the year on a bad note by not getting to go see Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows after having surgery on my back and being out of commission for almost a month. There went January.

220px-Ghost_Rider_2_PosterIn February I went to visit my brother, and when my family gathers we go see a movie. Good or bad, we go see something. And so it was that Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance was the first movie of 2012 for me, and how the franchise tricked me into seeing one of its movies in a theater for a second time. It somehow managed to be worse than the first, for some it was the fiery pee stream for me it was the fiery wrecking ball, but both were completely ridiculous. Shame on you Ciarnan Hinds, SHAME. We then almost ran into a tornado on the way home, and yes I am laying that squarely at Nicolas Cage’s feet.

Movie two was on the same trip and it was the rereleased in 3-D Star Wars: The Phantom Menace. I’ll admit, when that text started scrolling with John Williams’ Star Wars theme playing, it still gives me chills. But wow has this not aged so well. It is so much cheesier than I remember from seeing it when I was a teenager, and I thought it was cheesy then. But the Darth Maul/Qui-Gon Jinn/Obi-Wan Kenobi battle still looks good. And I got a nice pair of collector’s edition 3-D specs out of it.

I wouldn’t see another movie until May, missing The Raven and Cabin In the Woods (which I was on the fence about, see above). I had this respiratory thing I couldn’t shake. I’ll also put in here that a theater was supposed to have been finished at the end of spring -instead of a 30 minute drive- not even five minutes from my house, it wasn’t finished until the beginning of November. *sigh*

But when May came, oh, what a movie to break the dry spell. The Avengers made me so so happy. Like squee happy squee squee happy. I didn’t realize how much I actually dreaded this movie until I saw it a second time while being able to relax free of the fear that, at any moment, it would jump the shark. Thank you Marvel, thank you Joss, thank you cast, and even thank you to both sets of fellow audience members who were awesome and knew how to behave in a theater.

Something important would happen about here. I would discover the Fathom Movie Events series. Of course I discovered it by being told by a friend at work that she had just seen Singin’ in the Rain and as soon as the credits rolled her first thought was ‘I should’ve invited Eunice! She would’ve loved this.’ That’s right one of my top ten movies, and I missed it. I did however get tickets to The Birds that I was super excited about. CURSED TICKETS. After a series of unfortunate events I was unable to use them, and then everyone I tried to give them to wanted them, but had something terrible going on that prevented them from going. Cursed tickets.

birdemicwebIn October I would experience my first Rifftrax Live viewing with Birdemic: Shock and Terror being the lucky title. To rewind real quick, I met my first fellow mutant in March of 2012. I invited Heather along to see Spamalot when I went with a friend for her birthday (Not Mutant!Heather). I felt we bonded over Crazy Chapstick Lady, getting pictures of The Lady of the Lake (after almost running her over), and of course, the Quest for a Restroom. And so it was our second meeting when we went to see Birdemic. That movie is some kind of terrible the only shock or terror I felt was with the robot walking and air humping. Rifftrax is some kind of funny. And I now have the “Cerebro” “Magneto” thing added to my geek repertoire. Thanks Heather!

Ever since I saw the first trailer for it, I wanted to see Cirque du Soleil: Worlds Away in theater. Unfortunately it isn’t playing anywhere around here if Moviefone is to be believed. Oh 2012, why did you hate me so? Also Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters, World War Z, The Great Gatsby, 47 Ronin? All pushed back to 2013.
The_Hobbit _1_poster
Then in December came The Hobbit: The Unexpected Journey. There’s a review coming, but let me just say “warm fuzzies.” Loved it. Even if Richard Armitage made me have the hots for a dwarf. So glad to end the year on an up note.

While it may not have gotten seen in 2012, I have plans this week to go see Les Miserable, so that’s pretty good too.

And just because I didn’t go see many movies, I still got surprised by some rental finds. At the beginning of the year I saw Source Code which was just some really solid science fiction not earth shattering but I really liked it and still remember it almost a year later so it must of done something right. Also technically from 2011, but I saw it in 2012, was Jane Eyre, which wasn’t perfect, but Mia Wasikowska and Michael Fassbender nail their roles (even if he’s too handsome to be Rochester).

220px-Men_In_Black_3Men in Black III was a lot better than I was expecting and way better than the second one (and we’ve come to the consensus funnier than the first one), Josh Brolin does a scary good Tommy Lee Jones impersonation. I can’t understand the lack of love for John Carter, Deneb said everything I would want to say about it in his review. Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter was ridiculous but in all the right ways, it makes me want to give in and finally read the book. Act of Valor had terrible acting and you knew how it was going to play out from the first scene, but it was good for a night of mindless movie watching, the how not to make bodies splash in the water scene was pretty cool, and having grown up in a military family they got a lot of things right (and a couple things wrong but oh well).

Two movies I wasn’t expecting to like as much as I did were The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and Hope Springs, both had ad campaigns that looking back I feel were misleading, but they’re both sincere funny dramedies that I found myself recommending to people after I saw them.

And not seeing things yet means I still have titles I’m looking forward to seeing: Resident Evil: Retribution, The Dark Knight Rises, The Amazing Spider-Man, Skyfall (but that’s still in theaters so there’s still a chance), Looper, Magic Mike (my curiosity, I can’t help it), Rock of Ages, Premium Rush, Dredd, End of Watch, The Hunger Games (I know, I know, but I’m waiting for the hype to die down), Trouble with the Curve, Red Dawn, Lincoln, Hitchcock, Pitch Perfect, Brave, and Rare Exports became available in the US – I’ve got plenty of titles to still enjoy!

There were some disappointments -The Woman in Black, The Raven, and Sherlock Holmes 2 fit that- and let us not forget that 2012 was the year that gave us Battleship and Ghost Rider 2. But there’s been worse movie years in living memory.

So here’s saying farewell, 2012. Hello, 2013!

4 Comments

  1. I can sympathize – I have missed far too many movies in theaters over the past few years. Not because of anything quite as dramatic as you’re talking about, simply because of bad luck – ‘yeah, I really want to see that, but not RIGHT away ’cause the place will be packed… I’ll wait a bit; next Friday should be good. (Next Friday arrives) WHAT DO YOU MEAN IT’S NOT PLAYING ANYMORE?!’ – that sort of thing.
    Still, sounds like you had pretty good luck with the ones you DID see, so I guess it all balanced out, yes?

  2. Curse those cursed tickets!

    I really enjoyed this, and it’s not just because I like reading things about myself (how I managed to forget about Crazy Chapstick Lady I will never know). I had a good chuckle. Also you are very, very welcome for the “Cerebro” “Magneto” exchange. It’s one of my favorite things.

    I must ask, though-why do you have to wait for the hype for a movie (Hunger Games) to die down before you see it?

    • It’s not a general world view hype I’m talking about, I’m surrounded by a group of diehard over-the-top fans. I love fans but y’know when it goes from ‘wow they’re so excited about this I wanna try some of that!’ to ‘Ugh, if I hear one more word about that I’m going to be sick.’? Yeah. I’m negatively associating here, and that’s not fair to the books or movie, so I’m giving it some space before giving it a shot. It’s happened before with other things not just Hunger Games.

      …I’m the only person who has this problem aren’t I?

      • Personally, I’m a solitary fellow, so I don’t have that precise problem, no. However, I DO wait for a bit before seeing ‘em because it’s strategically sound. If you go see a movie that the hype-machine has been burbling over for months right when it comes out, you must expect the results of said machine – i.e, long lines that you’ll probably be at the back of, the theater packed with people who’ll probably prevent you sitting in your preferred seat, not to mention a fair smattering of idiots who’ll whoop and holler throughout the whole thing… bleh. If, on the other hand, you wait until it’s been out for a week or so, then the place will probably be almost empty, and you can settle down and watch the movie in comfort.
        As for hype itself, I try and avoid that until AFTER I’ve seen the movie. I’ll probably see a trailer or two in the time beforehand, then I’ll cut myself off from the hype until I get home from the theater – that’s when I go soak up the reviews and miscellaneous movie-babble, to see if it matches up with my own..

Leave a Reply

